Dan Kennedy and Ante Jazic finalists for MLS Awards

The Chivas USA players are among the finalists to earn an MLS Award

Dan Kennedy & Ante Jazic

Photo Credit: 
Getty Images

CARSON, Calif. (Thursday, November 15, 2012) – Chivas USA All-Star goalkeeper Dan Kennedy and left back Ante Jazic are among MLS’ 2012 awards finalists, the league announced today.

Kennedy, who was selected to his first All-Star Game this season for his dynamic play in goal for the Red-and-White, is a finalist for the Goalkeeper of the Year Award. The Southern California native finished the season among the league leaders in saves with 109 while making 32 starts. Kennedy’s streak of consecutive minutes played (2880) came to an end with two games left in the season, as he sat out the matches because of a knee injury.

Jazic, a consistent figure on the Goats’ back line all season, as well as a veteran of Canada’s National Team, is up for the Xbox Individual Fair Play Award. Jazic, in his fourth season with the Rojiblancos, made 27 starts and displayed a level of consistency that continues to demonstrate his veteran savvy. Throughout the years Jazic has been an integral part of Canada’s National Team, with 35 career appearances for international duty. The Xbox Individual Fair Play Award is selected by MLS based on objective criteria such as fouls committed, cards received, games & minutes played, as well as subjective evaluation of sportsmanlike behavior.

The awards announcements conclude on Thursday, Nov. 29 with the unveiling of the 2012 Volkswagen MLS Most Valuable Player.

Goalkeeper of the Year Finalists

Michael Gspurning (Seattle Sounders FC)

Dan Kennedy (Chivas USA)

Jimmy Nielsen (Sporting Kansas City)

Xbox Individual Fair Play Finalists

Ante Jazic (Chivas USA)

Logan Pause (Chicago Fire)

Heath Pearce (New York Red Bulls)