Two players plus coach to U.S. U15

Hugo Arellano, Joshua Perez and Coach Munoz to join U15 camp starting Saturday at HDC

Chivas USA Youth Academy players Hugo Arellano and Joshua Perez have been named to U.S. U15 National Team roster. The Red-and-White’s U15 Head Coach Mike Munoz has also been called to camp to serve as assistant coach to Tony Lepore. The training camp will begin this Saturday, October 27 and will run until November 3 in The Home Depot Center.

Arellano and Perez have been previously named to U15 camp, and take part of 22 other players that currently play in U.S. Soccer Developmental Academy (USSDA). Just this week, Perez was named USSDA’s Peak Performer of the Week after notching one goal and making three assists in Chivas U15s 4-0 victory over Pateadores. Arellano has played in four games with the Academy, making three starts. Coach Munoz’ call-up as assistant coach is his first to the national team. Munoz has helped the U15 squad earn a 2-1-2 record (W-L-T) and stand in second place in the Southwest Division standings, with one match less played than first place.

“I’m very honored to be called into camp,” said Coach Munoz. “Full credit goes to all of my players and staff for performing well on the field. I’m just the coach and at the end of the day, the guys have to go out and perform. I’m very excited about heading into camp; it’s going to be a very talented group. I’m there to learn, but also help with my style and hopefully further develop these kids.”

U.S. U15 Training Camp Roster:

GOALKEEPERS (5): Ben Hale (Liverpool America FC), Hamza Monawer (Arlington Soccer Association), Abraham Romero (LA Galaxy), Kevin Silva (PDA), Andrew Verdi (FC DELCO)

DEFENDERS (10): Hugo Arellano (Chivas USA; Norwalk, Calif.), Daniel Barbir (PDA), George Braima (Crew Soccer Academy), Thomas McCabe (PDA), John Nelson II (Internationals Soccer Club), Luke Prpa (Chicago Magic), Juan Riley (Weston FC), Joseph Schmidt (Internationals Soccer Club), Alexis Velela (Nomads SC), Trey Vinson (D.C. United Academy)

MIDFIELDERS (11): Christian Albelo (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim), Eric Calvillo (Real SoCal; Palmdale, Calif.), Arturo Carrillo (Club Atlético Monarcas Morelia), Luca De La Torre (San Diego Surf), Weston McKennie (FC Dallas), Logan Panchot (St. Louis Scott Gallagher Missouri), Christian Pulisic (PA Classics), Edwin Quiroz (Crescenta SC CA), Juan Ramirez (Bethesda Lions), Brian Zelaya (De Anza Force Academy), Alejandro Zendejas (FC Dallas)

FORWARDS (10): Juan Manuel Albizar (Downtown SC Premier), Orrin Gaines II (Lonestar SC), Joe Gallardo Jr. (Nomads SC), Justin Ingram (Indiana United Fire), Lagos Kunga (DDYSC 98 Wolves Elite), Jonathan Navarro (De Anza Force Academy), Joshua Perez (Chivas USA; La Habra, Calif.), Elijah Rice (Chicago Magic PSG), Sean Teixeira (New York Red Bulls), Haji Wright (LA Galaxy)