Recap: Chivas USA vs San Jose Preseason

Goats struggle with San Jose in last preseason match

Nick LaBrocca San Jose Earthquakes

Photo Credit: 
Getty Images

The San Jose Earthquakes ended preseason on a high note, romping past Chivas USA 5-0 in both teams' final game in the Portland Timbers Tournament on Sunday afternoon.

After a cagey beginning to the contest, Chris Wondolowski got the scoring started in the 28th minute. Midfielder Shea Salinas pounced on a Chivas turnover, then found Wondolowski in the box. The striker picked his spot and drove a left footed strike to Dan Kennedy's back post.

The floodgates opened on the other side of halftime. Justin Morrow made it 2-0 in the 52nd minute when he got onto the end of a Ramiro Corrales redirect off a Marvin Chavez corner.

Corrales was involved in the third, setting up sub Tressor Moreno in the 80th minute. Four minutes later Sercan Guvenisik, who'd come on for Wondolwski in the 79th, was put through alone on Kennedy and made no mistake, pushing it to 4-0.

Rookie winger Sam Garza applied the coup de grace in the 88th, taking a pass from Guvenisik and beating Kennedy for the 5-0 final.

The Quakes kick off the regular season on Saturday, March 10, when they host New England. Chivas are in action on Sunday, March 11, hosting Houston.

Scoring Summary:

SJ – Chris Wondolowski (Shea Salinas) 27'

SJ – Justin Morrow (Ramiro Corrales, Marvin Chavez) 52'

SJ – Tressor Moreno (Ramiro Corrales) 80'

SJ – Sercan Guvenisik (Tressor Moreno) 84'

SJ – Sam Garza (Sercan Guvenisik) 88'

Misconduct Summary:

CHV – Heath Pearce (caution) 11'

SJ – Steven Beitashour (caution) 31'

SJ – Marvin Chavez (caution) 58'

San Jose Earthquakes – Jon Busch, Steven Beitashour, Ike Opara (Jason Hernandez 46), Justin Morrow, Ramiro Corrales, Marvin Chavez (Sam Garza 74), Sam Cronin, Rafael Baca, Shea Salinas (Tressor Moreno 63), Chris Wondolowski (Sercan Guvenisik 79), Steven Lenhart (Khari Stephenson 63).

Chivas USA – Dan Kennedy, James Riley, John Valencia, Heath Pearce (Rauwshan McKenzie 63), Jorge Villafana, Laurent Courtois, Michael Lahoud (Ryan Smith 46), Oswaldo Minda (Ben Zemanski 59), Nick LaBrocca (Peter Vagenas 76), Juan Pablo Angel (Cesar Romero 63), Casey Townsend.