Earthquakes Capture Sacramento Cup

San Jose wins 6-5 in a penalty kick shootout

San Jose Earthquakes earned a 6-5 penalty-kick shootout win after
battling Chivas USA to a scoreless draw for 90 minutes in the inaugural
Sacramento Cup hosted at Raley Field.

the penalty kicks, both sides converted their first five attempts.
Chris Wondolowski, Ramiro Corrales, Javier Robles, Ryan Johnson and
Ramon Sanchez lined up for San Jose's five while Gerson Mayén, Carlos
Borja, Maicon Santos, Michael Umaña, and José Macotelo made good for
Chivas USA. Jason Hernandez scored the decisive tally after Busch's
save on Chivas USA goalkeeper Dan Kennedy to win the Sacramento Cup.

a largely defensive stalemate, both teams kept a close eye on the area,
allowing only Chukwudi Chijindu's slow-rolling dribbler that was easily
scooped up by Busch..

and Johnson picked up cautions for San Jose. Yamith Cuesta also drew
yellow for Chivas USA after tussling with Johnson in the 82nd minute.

USA will face FC Dallas on Saturday, June 26, at 7:30 The Home Depot
Center in Carson, Calif. For tickets, call 1-877-CHIVAS-1 or visit

San Jose Earthquakes vs. Chivas USA

June 12, 2010 – Raley Field

Attendance: 7,134


Scoring Summary: None

Penalty Kicks: CHV
– Gerson Mayén (goal), Carlos Borja (goal), Maicon Santos (goal),
Michael Umaña (goal), José Macotelo (goal), Dan Kennedy (save); SJ –
Chris Wondolowski (goal), Ramiro Corrales (goal), Javier Robles (goal),
Ryan Johnson (goal), Ramón Sánchez (goal), Jason Hernández (goal).

Misconduct Summary: CHV – Mariano Trujillo (caution) 37; SJ – Steven Beitashour (caution) 35; CHV – Gerson Mayen (caution) 82; SJ – Ryan Johnson (caution) 82.

San Jose Earthquakes
Jon Busch, Steven Beitashour, Bobby Burling, Ike Opara (Jason Hernandez
72), Justin Morrow, Omar Jasseh (Ramiro Corrales 72), Ramon Sanchez,
Brad Ring, Javier Robles, Arturo Alvarez (Chris Wondolowski 72), Ryan

Statistics:  Shots 4; Shots on Goal 0; Saves 1; Fouls 7; Offsides 2; Corner Kicks 4.

Chivas USA
Zach Thornton (Dan Kennedy 46), Mariano Trujillo (Jorge Flores 46),
Michael Umaña, Darío Delgado, Carlos Borja, Michael Lahoud (Marcelo
Saragosa 46), Osael Romero (Jose Macotelo 46), Blair Gaven (Ben
Zemanski 46), Jesús Padilla (Gerson Mayén 46), Justin Braun (Maicon
Santos 46), Maykel Galindo (Chukwudi Chijindu 46).

Statistics:  Shots 9; Shots on Goal 1; Saves 0; Fouls 16; Offsides 3; Corner Kicks 3.