Chivas USA Chosen For SuperLiga 2010

2010 dates and venues announced with tournament beginning July 14

SuperLiga 2009 Team Photo

Photo Credit: 
Getty Images

Major League Soccer and the Federación Mexicana de Fútbol (FMF)
today unveiled the dates and venues for the 2010 edition of SuperLiga. 
The fourth installment of the tournament – which features top U.S. and Mexican
soccer clubs and awards the winner with one of the biggest purses in the region
– will begin Wednesday, July 14, just three days following the conclusion of
this summer’s FIFA World Cup.

The first round of the 2010 edition will be staged in an eight day
span that will include doubleheader dates at Toyota Park in the Chicago
area  (July 17) and Robertson Stadium in Houston, TX (July 18). Information for the semifinals and
final to be played in August will be announced once teams qualify.

criteria determined which four teams would represent the United States in the
tournament. Based on their 2009 regular season record, the top four MLS teams
(who are not competing in the 2010-2011 CONCACAF Champions League) qualified
for SuperLiga 2010: Chicago Fire, Chivas USA, Houston Dynamo and New
England Revolution
. The four invited Mexican clubs participating in
this edition of SuperLiga will be known later this spring, following the
conclusion of the current tournament.

In its
history, SuperLiga has crowned two Mexican champions (Pachuca, 2007 and Tigres,
2009) and one U.S. champion (New England Revolution, 2008). All three
championship games have been determined by penalty kicks. During the inaugural
edition of SuperLiga, CF Pachuca defeated the Los Angeles Galaxy at The Home
Depot Center in Carson, Calif. on Aug. 30, 2007.  In 2008, the all-MLS
final saw the Revolution defeat the Houston Dynamo at Gillette Stadium in
Foxborough, Mass. In 2009, Tigres UANL of Mexico defeated the Chicago Fire in
front of a sell-out crowd at Toyota Park.

For ticket
information, fans are encouraged to contact the local MLS club. The entire
tournament will once again be broadcast live by TeleFutura in the United

and schedule for SuperLiga 2010 will be announced in the spring.

2010 Schedule*

* Subject to

July 14

Game 1: Venue
TBD – Boston / Foxborough, MA

Game 2:
Toyota Park – Bridgeview, IL

July 15

Game 3:
Robertson Stadium – Houston, TX

Game 4: The
Home Depot Center – Carson, CA

July 17

Game 5:
Toyota Park – Bridgeview, IL

Game 6:
Toyota Park – Bridgeview, IL

 Sunday, July 18

Game 7:
Robertson Stadium – Houston, TX

Game 8:
Robertson Stadium – Houston, TX

Tuesday, July

Game 9: Venue
TBD – Boston / Foxborough, MA

Game 10:
Toyota Park – Bridgeview, IL

July 21

Game 11:
Robertson Stadium – Houston, TX

Game 12: The
Home Depot Center – Carson, CA

Major League Soccer:

in New York City, Major League Soccer is the top-flight professional soccer
league in the United States and Canada. MLS features many stars from the U.S.,
Canada, and around the world. MLS kicks off its 15th season on March 25, 2010.
MLS features 16 clubs each playing 30 regular season matches in 2010. Those
teams include Chicago Fire; Colorado Rapids; Chivas USA; Columbus Crew; D.C.
United; FC Dallas; Houston Dynamo; Kansas City Wizards; Los Angeles Galaxy; New
York Red Bulls; New England Revolution; 2009 MLS Cup Champion Real Salt Lake;
San Jose Earthquakes; Seattle Sounders FC; Toronto FC; and, in their inaugural
season, Philadelphia Union.  Expansion teams in Vancouver and Portland
will debut in 2011. For more information about MLS, log on to the League’s official
website at

Mexican Federation’s First Division:

The Mexican
First Division, the top flight professional league of the Federacion Mexicana de
Futbol (FMF), features a total of 18 teams who vie for the championship decided
by a playoff system known as “la Liguilla”, is home to some of Latin America’s
top players and teams that are considered some of the best in this
hemisphere.  Mexican clubs have shown their quality not just within their
own country but also the Americas’ most prestigious competitions. For more
information, visit the Federation’s official site: